Purple swag bag and shrug

I was inspired by a Facebook friend to make a small purse. I am not really big on purses myself, but these bags are really cute and I just had to give it a try. One of the hardest things for me usually to do is decide on a color, especially if it’s a project for me. I had a few extra skeins of purple so that made this decision fairly simple. I also had a few fat quarters of fabric around that would work perfect for the liner. Let me just say that it is so much easier to sew the liner in as you work vs when finished, at least for this bag. The tops are gathered which made it a monster to get the liner to go in easily. Anyway, here is the finished bag.

Well after I made the purse I purchased a magazine with a great shrug pattern that would go with the purse. Then a light bulb went off. I remembered that I had an upcoming wedding to attend and I also had a nice purple dress, a different shade then what the purse was made from which I thought would go with perfectly. So I began and made the shrug. I used a larger hook size than what the pattern called for because I needed it a little larger than the provided sizes. The shrug came out beautifully and worked up fairly quick, there was only one problem. It was kind of small for me. Not too terribly small. So what I did was washed it and blocked it out to see if it would stretch a little for me. That worked. I think it still fit just a tad small for my taste, but it still was cute and I didn’t have time to make another, so that was it. Here is a picturs of the shrug and the purse together. Also with me wearing the shrug alongside the beautiful bride.

Take care and thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a comment

Classy Crochet

Fun yarns for fun times

Hope's Loving Hands Blog

THIS IS NOT YOUR GRANDMAS CROCHET.......

So Sew Something!

I'll Teach You How!

SwayMebyDavina

Sewing one stitch at a time

jennizms

The world through Jenn's eyes